Final Thoughts: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion

What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?

If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

12 thoughts on “Final Thoughts: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion

  1. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?
    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?

    I learned a lot from Marie in the Shadow of the Lion like that a lot of people lose their loved ones in war. Unlike today were you get notified/told that s/he is died they don’t find out and they end up waiting for them to come home and they don’t know that they are never coming home. I was really surprised by some of the things in the story like the fact that they had to keep leaving their family behind and if they didn’t they would all lose their lives. I guess in a way I knew they would probably end up getting separated from there family but I did not think they would just have to make a choice to leave them or not. What shocked me a lot was that the soldier for our country were beating up that little boy I don’t really know his name but he went with Marie’s family. I don’t really know what are country or world should do about it because it is such a big issue. I guess if I had to decide what we had to do about this i would just say we should mind our own business. I would say this not because it look what happened when we went to iraq to help we ended up getting into a huge war and now it is affect our lives and safety here in the U.S. This answer now kind of surprises even me because in the beginning I was like we should be over there helping them but now that i know more about I figure even if we did help them this is the kind of enviroment they grew up in and kids usually do what there parents do. If you kill the people causing all these issues then in the end we are just going to end up getting more terrorist and thing here. So this is how i came to my new conclusion to just mind our own business.

    If I made my own school i would allow anyone to come to it no matter what race,color,sex,or religion they are. In the school people would be put in the same classes with the many different people and they would be made to get along even if they don’t like each other. We would learn about some of the many problems around the world and even though this is history class and we should talk about what i would teach them geography/history things I would also teach them some of the different types of writing that they do all around the world(if I knew all of the writing around the world) This is i like writing and it is my favorite class and so I think it would be interesting to learn and teach a class like that.

  2. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?

    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?

    1.) I learned that the war that is going on between the rebels and the government is affecting everyone around them and as a result is killing people, abducting children, and driving people insane.
    2.) My reaction was dulled because I had learned about the invisible children and this story is linked to that and I don’t usually have shocked reactions t the same stories.
    3.) I have to admit I was a little surprised that someone who went through something like this could write a story to the public and be so open about the subject.
    4.) I was shocked when the other two sisters had out-run the Rebels.
    5.) I think we should do something about it but I’m not sure what. But on the other hand I think we are already in over our heads with soldiers still in Iraq, Iran, and I’m sure other places PLUS we are still in a financial crisis. Our plate is full already. I want us to help but because of our own problems they get pushed aside.
    6.) When I first saw the movie it opened my eyes to a new problem. However I did not realize just how big of a problem it really was. Since reading the story I now realize how big this issue is.

    1.) If I could have my dream school it would have a big swimming pool, a computer lab, and a large cafeteria. It would be a high school or middle school. If it were a middle school it would hold grades 6-8. Grade 6 would be on the third floor, grade 7 would be on ground level, and grade 8 would be on the first level. Each grade would have there own classes so they weren’t mixed. If it were a high school it would work like a high school.
    2.) Learning would take place in the classes because the classes would involve participation and interaction.
    3.) You would study math, writing, animation, gym, and ancient history because math is important and you need it in life as well as writing. Animation is a cool thing to learn to make videos. Gym would be needed to keep students healthy and fit. As a country we are always learning from the Mesopotamians, the Egyptians, Greeks, and Romans so it would be great t learn that.

  3. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?
    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?

    I learned a lot from the story so far. I learned that the rebels carved their sign into the door of the house that they went to. And they would come back to that house.
    This story was really interesting. What surprised me the most was when the teacher left. I did not know what as happening. And it built up the suspense. The thing that shocked me was when Marie looked out the curtains and saw the back of a Rebel.
    I think that we should send the government to were the child soldiers are. The government can help the children and people there.
    My view point has not changed. I still feel the same bout the issue.

    If I could design a school would make it fun. I would have some classes but not a lot. There would probably be more felid trips. It would look like a school. But a cute one. There would be classes Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday. Thursday and Friday would be fun day. I would cover all of the subjects becuase that is what the kids need to learn.

  4. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?
    I didn’t know that the rebels took women to do all of the work. i thought they just took the boys and left or killed the girls. in the story i didn’t think that marie would get away from the rebels and i thought that she would find her family.i have no idea what the world can do except start a war with them cause there not just going to stop, so i don’t what to do. i don’t think that my viewpoint has changed i just know more things about it.

    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why- well my school would look like a school. it would have open space that could be used for anything. the learning would take place in a class room. i don’t know what i would study.

  5. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?
    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?
    From the story Marie In The Shadow of the Lion I learned what they do with some of the women and girls when they don’t kill them. Obviously we knew how they captured the boys and made them into soldiers but this story explained more about girls too. I can’t really say that I’m surprised what they do with the girls based on what we’ve already learned. It really hit me hard though, especially being a girl. I think that what they do with both the boys and girls is equally horrible. What both of them have to go through is something where I would rather die than go through it. I think that our country needs to help stop what is going on there. Before we try to do anything, our first step needs to be to raise awareness about the issue. Probably only about 10 or 15% of Americans know what is going on there. Then from there we can all work together to figure out what to do. My viewpoint has not changed about Invisible Children because I still feel strongly about stopping the rebels although I feel more informed about the issue.
    If I could design the school of my dreams it would be a really nice school with big lockers and a huge cafeteria with comfy booths and amazing food and the bathrooms would be very sanitary. They would have automatic flush toilets and automatic sinks, soap dispensers and paper towels. The doors everywhere in the school would be automatic too. As far as learning goes, we would be able to pick what we wanted to learn about and be able to come up with suggestions about how to learn it in a fun way. We would study whatever we felt like and whatever is important to us. We would study important issues like Invisible Children and stuff like that instead of crap like algebra that we’ll never need to know if life.

  6. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?
    What I learned from Marie In the Shadow of the Lion was that girls and women were taken by the rebels and made to do domestic duties and have the mens children, while the men and boys went out to fight. I was shocked that they were making the women do this and sometimes forcing them to have their children. What surprised me was that they had boys over the age of seven fighting in the war What shocked me was that they would actually drug the children in the war so they couldn’t think about what they were doing. I think that we should take action about child soldiers and make sure that there aren’t happing any where in the world. I don’t think that my view point has changed much since watching that movie, I still think that we should do something about the wars happening in the world and that we should do something about cild soldiers.

    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?
    If I could a school I would make it really big, three floors, enough lockers for everyone in the school, and it would be made out of bricks. I think that I would want more hands-on learning, instead of writing papers we could do an experiment. I would study all the subjects because I want to get a good grade.

  7. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?

    I learned that anybody can be harmed or hunted by the rebels, and they can attack at any time. The thing that surprised the most was that they have to be ready for the rebels to attack at any time because they might and can get killed and the father almost did get killed. I can’t believe that human beings, the same people as us have to go through that kind of stuff and we don’t and we are all humans. They should make the making of children soldiers illegal, but I don’t think that would go over to well. It think that making children at our soldiers is completely wrong. They should find a way to stop it. I think I still think along the same lines but I think more about how serious the case really is. I sometimes get more emotional when I see people getting treated that way and especially when I see the children getting turned into those “things”.

    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?

    If I had to design the school of my dreams it would be a huge school with a kids lounge and a teachers lounge. It would have different kinds of foods that are awesome. (chinese food) In the classrooms for the chairs we would all have bean bag chairs. Automatic toilets and sinks in the bathrooms. As for learning we would get to choose what we wanted to learn about. I would want the students to learn all about things like The Invisible Children and stuff like the CSPAN projects we did. The abortion one was really strong, it really got the point across and it almost made me cry to see the babies die in that horrible way. Those subjects are really important subjects to learn because it is about our world and people in the world have to go through.

    Those are my thoughts!!!!

  8. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?
    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?

    From the story Marie In The Shadow of the Lion I learned what they do with some of the women and girls when they don’t murder them. This story reminds me of invisible children but this explains it more in detail. I’m surprised what they do with the girls based on what we’ve already learned. I think that what they do with both the boys and girls is horrible. What both of them have to go through is something where I would rather die than go through it. I think that we should bring our USA troups to help them.

    If I could design my own school I would want big lockers and learn about important things in life like learning to clean and cook and bu groceries and not earn about math and science which we would never need anyway. I want my school to be made out of ice cream and brownies.

  9. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion?
    I learned that there is war everywhere even if noone says there is.
    What was your reaction? I was awed by what the rebles do. What surprised you? i was surprised when Marie raced her friends and her father didn’t approve. What shocked you? I was shocked when the rebles started to burn down houses. What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? I think the country hsould atleast send in 10,000 troops. Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie? I never really thought of anything before that movie.But now…i still can’t get my mind off that movie.i really want to help them.
    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? the school would be BIG,with 4 floors.it would hold grades from 7-9. How would learning take place? learning would be like most other public schools. What would you study and why? we would study ancient history, about the roman/greek mythology.

  10. Last post by Ed B., which is the same as this is really Dylan’s. I forgot to change the name.
    What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?
    What I learned from Marie In the Shadow of the Lion was that girls and women were taken by the rebels and made to do domestic duties and have the mens children, while the men and boys went out to fight. I was shocked that they were making the women do this and sometimes forcing them to have their children. What surprised me was that they had boys over the age of seven fighting in the war What shocked me was that they would actually drug the children in the war so they couldn’t think about what they were doing. I think that we should take action about child soldiers and make sure that there aren’t happing any where in the world. I don’t think that my view point has changed much since watching that movie, I still think that we should do something about the wars happening in the world and that we should do something about cild soldiers.

    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?
    If I could a school I would make it really big, three floors, enough lockers for everyone in the school, and it would be made out of bricks. I think that I would want more hands-on learning, instead of writing papers we could do an experiment. I would study all the subjects because I want to get a good grade.

  11. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?

    Since reading Marie in the Shadow of the Lion I have learned a lot more about what happens to the Invisible Children. I didn’t know what they did to girls I thought they just turned them into soldiers like the boys. I was surprised by some of the things in the story. I didn’t think they just shot people like they did to Marie’s father. What shocked me the most was when they threw the baby and what they do to the girls/women. How could someone THROW a baby. That to me says they have a cold heart. I don’t know what we can do about it. I think if we raised enough awareness people would realize it was a big problem and come together to find a solution. MY point of view hasn’t changed since we watched the movie.

    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?

    If I could design my own school it would be made out of macaroni. The KRAFT macaroni and cheese! We would do a LOT of math and reading. We would go outside and write poems about what we see. In geography/history I would do it a lot like Mr. Viens does his because I like doing the maps and I thought the Invisible Children movie and the story was very interesting to learn about.

  12. What did you learn from the story: Marie In the Shadow of the Lion? What was your reaction? What surprised you? What shocked you? What do you think the world or our country should do about the issue of child soldiers? Think back to Invisible Children, how has your viewpoint changed since your original response to the movie?

    If you could design the school of your dreams, what would it look like? How would learning take place? What would you study and why?

    I learned that you should be thankful for everything you have and that you should be thankful for everyday you have with your family that is safe.

    My reaction was WOW! I can’t believe that actually happens! I just couldn’t imagine what it would be like to wonder weather or not you would live through the night.

    That people would actually go and invade someones house trying to kill them. Also why they could be able to do that without getting arrested.

    I think we definitely have to do something because it’s not right for children to have to be soldiers. Maybe we could try and talk to their government to try and get this war to stop so children can have a fun filled life.

    I think my viewpoint has gotten stronger about feeling sorry for them because I have heard even more terrible stories. I wish there was something I could do right now at my age.

    My dream school would be in a place where everyone was safe. I would have healthy but actually tasty lunches everyday. We would have basic classes math, English, reading, science, and social studies. They would be shorter though and we would have more classes that we use every single day of our life. We would have cooking,sewing,wood shop ext.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *